+++ Have you already discovered our new Merchandise & More? ✨ +++

STORK CLUB Mizunara

Whiskey in the Blockchain - Exclusive presale from STORK CLUB Mizunara, in cooperation with Still in Cask!

Japanese Mizunara Oak - the Ferrari of barrels?

Rare and much more expensive than European and American oak, but why is that?

The Japanese Mizunara oak grows slowly and can only be processed after around 200 years of growth. In addition, the Japanese tree does not grow straight, which is why the wood is difficult to process into barrels. Mizunara oak has a high moisture content and by the way, “Mizunara” means something like “water oak”. The wood is also more porous compared to other oak woods, which can sometimes lead to leaking barrels and ultimately less whiskey.

Due to the difficult cultivation, rare harvest licenses, the nature of the wood and the high demand at the same time, a Can cost around €5,000 alone.

How does mizunara affect the taste of whiskey?

At the beginning of the ripening process, the Mizunara oak has a very concentrated effect on the distillate. Finer, more diverse aromas are only released into the distillate after a longer period of time. Incidentally, this ensures that whiskey from Mizunara casks is often stored for quite a long time.

In terms of taste, whiskey from Mizunara oak casks is often known for a harmonious mixture of sweet and spicy. Flavors like coconut, vanilla and honey mostly pair with oriental spices, Japanese incense, sandalwood and delicious saltiness.

At the molecular level, Japanese Mizunara Oak has the lowest tannin content compared to American and European Oak. To put it simply, this prevents the whiskey from “overgrowing” the taste. The whiskey from Mizunara casks is often very soft on the palate and tongue.

STORK CLUB x Still in Cask | Web 3.0

As already mentioned, there is only one 250 liter STORK CLUB Mizunara cask. It was filled with our popular rye malt distillate earlier this year. And it will only be emptied in about 5 years, when the whiskey has reached a unique, delicious taste, characterized by the Mizunara oak.

Through our partnership with "Still in Cask" you have the opportunity Secure cask shares from the acclaimed STORK CLUB MIZUNARA now.

When you purchase cask shares through Still in Cask, they are recorded on a public blockchain on the Stellar network. This guarantees you a more secure, transparent and publicly accessible documentation of the sales contract between you and us - the distillery.

After a few years you can easily redeem your cask share for a 500ML bottle of Mizunara Whiskey.

Close (esc)

Get a 5% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive whiskey recipes, information about new releases, discount campaigns and much more about STORK CLUB Rye Whiskey.

Sign up for the newsletter now and get a 5% discount code.

age verification

Are you over 18?

Search

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now
x

+++ Schon unseren neuen STORK CLUB Bio-Rye Gin probiert? 😋 +++

STORK CLUB Mizunara

Whiskey in der Blockchain - Exklusiver Vorverkauf vom STORK CLUB Mizunara, in Kooperation mit Still in Cask!

Japanische Mizunara Eiche - der Ferrari unter den Fässern?

Seltener und viel teurer als Europäische und Amerikanische Eiche, aber warum ist das so?

Die Japanische Mizunara Eiche wächst langsam und kann erst nach rund 200 Jahren Wachstumsphase verarbeitet werden. Zusätzlich wächst der japanische Baum nicht gerade, weshalb sich das Holz daher nur schwer zu Fässern verarbeiten lässt. Mizunara Eiche hat einen hohen Feuchtigkeitsanteil und “Mizunara” bedeute übersetzt übrigens so viel wie “Wasser-Eiche”. Ebenfalls ist das Holz poröser im Vergleich zu anderen Eichenhölzern, was mitunter zu auslaufenden Fässern und schlussendlich weniger Whiskey führen kann.

Aufgrund des erschwerten Anbaus, raren Ernte-Lizenzen, der Beschaffenheit vom Holz und der gleichzeitig hohen Nachfrage kann ein Fass alleine mal gut und gerne um die 5.000€ kosten.

Wie beeinflusst Mizunara den Whiskey geschmacklich?

Anfangs im Reifeprozess wirkt die Mizunara Eiche sich recht konzentriert auf’s Destillat aus. Feinere, vielfältigere Aromen werden erst nach längerer Zeit ans Destillat abgegeben. Dies sorgt nebenbei erwähnt dafür, dass Whiskey aus Mizunara Fässern oft recht lang gelagert werden.

Geschmacklich ist Whiskey aus Mizunara Eichenfässern oft für eine harmonische Mischung aus süß und würzig bekannt. Aromen wie Kokosnuss, Vanille und Honig paaren sich meist mit orientalischen Gewürzen, japanischem Weihrauch, Sandelholz und köstlicher Salzigkeit. 

Auf der molekularen Ebene hat die Japanische Mizunara Eiche, im Vergleich mit Amerikanischer und Europäischer Eiche, den geringsten Tannin-Gehalt. Simpel gesagt verhindert dies eine geschmackliche “Überholzung” vom Whiskey. Der Whiskey aus Mizunara Fässern wirkt oft sehr weich an Gaumen und Zunge.

STORK CLUB x Still in Cask | Web 3.0

Wie bereits erwähnt, gibt es nur ein einziges 250 Liter STORK CLUB Mizunara Fass. Befüllt wurde es Anfang der Jahres mit unserem beliebten Rye Malt Destillat. Und entleert wird es erst in ca. 5 Jahren, wenn der Whiskey einen einzigartigen, leckeren Geschmack erreicht hat, geprägt von der Mizunara-Eiche.

Durch unsere Partnerschaft mit "Still in Cask" hast du als die Möglichkeit dir jetzt schon Fassanteile vom begeehrten STORK CLUB MIZUNARA zu sichern.

Wenn du Fass-Anteile über Still in Cask kaufst, werden diese in einer öffentlichen Blockchain des Stellar-Netzwerks aufgezeichnet. Dies garantiert dir eine sicherere, transparente und öffentlich einsehbare Dokumentation des Kaufvertrags zwischen dir und uns - der Brennerei.

Nach einigen Jahren kannst du ganz einfach dein Fass-Anteil für eine 500ML Flasche Mizunara Whiskey einlösen.

Schließen (Esc)

Sichere dir 5% Rabatt auf deine nächste Bestellung!

Abonniere unseren Newsletter und erhalte Whiskey-Rezepte, Infos zu Neuerscheinungen, Rabattaktionen und vielem mehr rund um STORK CLUB Rye Whiskey.

Jetzt zum Newsletter anmelden und 5% Rabattcode sichern.

Altersüberprüfung

Bist du über 18 Jahre?

Suchen

Einkaufswagen

Ihr Einkaufswagen ist im Moment leer.
Einkauf beginnen
x