+++ Have you already discovered our new Merchandise & More? ✨ +++

Unsere Herstellung

FROM GRAIN TO GLASS

Have you ever wondered how rye actually becomes STORK CLUB Rye Whiskey?

Since 2004, award-winning whiskeys of the highest quality have been distilled and matured in the STORK CLUB distillery 60km south of Berlin. In 2010, the whiskey was awarded 94 points internationally for the first time by Jim Murray's Whiskey Bible. In 2019, STORK CLUB Rye Whiskey received the "World's Best Rye Whisky" award at the World Whiskeys Awards. We make our whiskey in a traditional and artisan way. And yet we love to break with conventions. It's not for nothing that we are Germany's first pure rye whiskey distillery!

The Rye

The basis of our whiskey is German rye from the surrounding fields. We obtain this rye from agricultural cooperatives and cooperatives of regional farmers. That makes sense, because Brandenburg is Europe's largest growing region for rye and is known worldwide for its quality. Even well-known American Rye Whiskey producers buy their rye here in Brandenburg!

Mashing & Fermenting

In our hammer mill, we grind our grain ourselves according to our specifications. A fine rye flour is produced, which we now boil down with plenty of water for several hours. In this process, we convert the starch in the flour into simple sugars so that they can be digested by the yeasts in the fermentation process. The result is a viscous, dark and very sweet grain porridge: the mash. This mash is now pumped into our fermentation tanks, where it is mixed with selected yeast strains. The yeasts now eat the sugar in the mash and excrete CO2 and alcohol in the process. The fermentation process takes about 5 days, after which the sweet grain porridge has turned into a sour grain porridge with about 9% alcohol. We affectionately call it "Distillers Beer". This Distillers Beer is now being distilled

Distill

The rye mash is pumped into our two copper hybrid stills and gently distilled there. The first distillation takes place in a pot still, the second distillation process in a so-called aromator over 5 copper bubble trays. Our New Make - the raw distillate - has approx. 75% vol. after distillation. We can distil approx. 9L New Make from 1,000L mash, after two distillation processes we can fill a 200L whiskey barrel. Incidentally, we work with two self-developed "Mash Bills" (grain recipes):

100% raw rye fruit - "Bold & Spicy": this distillate impresses with its peppery fruitiness and results in a robust and spicy whiskey.

100% rye malt - "Sweet & Mellow": this distillate impresses with its malty sweetness and chocolate notes and results in a smooth and sweet whiskey.

maturing process

Up to 60-80% of the aromas contained in the whiskey are released from the casks, which serve as temporary storage space for the whiskey. We have the highest demands on our cask management, because that is at least as elementary as the mash bill of our whiskeys and the yeasts we use.

Our whiskeys are matured in different casks for at least 3 years and before bottling married together to develop complexity, character and the typical STORK CLUB taste. For this purpose, we primarily use barrels made of American or German Napoleon oak that are individually built for us. The casks are heat treated (“toasted”) in different ways in order to transfer very specific taste characteristics to the whiskey. But “preallocated” barrels are also used. Barrels that used to contain e.g. wine, sherry or other spirits.

BOTTLING and LABELING

After aging, the whiskey casks are emptied and blended together in specific compositions. After a rest period, it is filtered and reduced to drinking strength by adding filtered, neutralized water. The bottling and labeling as the last step takes place - mostly still by hand - also in our distillery.

Close (esc)

Get a 5% discount on your next order!

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive whiskey recipes, information about new releases, discount campaigns and much more about STORK CLUB Rye Whiskey.

Sign up for the newsletter now and get a 5% discount code.

age verification

Are you over 18?

Search

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now
x

Unsere Herstellung

FROM GRAIN TO GLASS

Hast du dich auch schon mal gefragt wie aus Roggen eigentlich STORK CLUB Rye Whiskey wird?

Seit 2004 werden in der STORK CLUB Destillerie 60km südlich von Berlin prämierte Whiskeys von höchster Qualität gebrannt und gereift. 2010 wurde der Whisky erstmals international durch Jim Murray's Whisky Bible mit 94 Punkten prämiert. 2019 bekam STORK CLUB Rye Whiskey die Auszeichung »World’s Best Rye Whisky« bei den World Whiskies Awards verliehen. Wir machen unseren Whiskey ganz traditionell und handwerklich. Und doch lieben wir es mit Konventionen zu brechen. Nicht umsonst sind wir Deutschlands erste reine Roggen-Whiskey-Destillerie!

Der Roggen

Die Basis unserer Whiskeys bildet deutscher Roggen von den umliegenden Feldern. Diesen Roggen beziehen wir von Agrargenossenschaften und Kooperativen regionaler Bauern. Das macht Sinn, denn Brandenburg ist Europas größte Anbauregion für Roggen und weltweit bekannt für seine Qualität. Sogar bekannte amerikanische Rye Whiskey-Produzenten kaufen ihren Roggen hier in Brandenburg ein!

Maischen & Fermentieren

In unserer Hammer-Mühle mahlen wir unser Getreide selbst nach unseren Spezifikationen. Es entsteht ein feines Roggenmehl, dass wir nun mit viel Wasser für mehrere Stunden einkochen. Bei diesem Prozess wandeln wir die Stärke im Mehl in Einfachzucker um, damit dieser überhaupt für die Hefen im Fermentationsprozess verdaubar wird. Es entsteht ein dickflüssiger, dunkler und sehr süßer Getreidebrei: die Maische. Diese Maische wird nun in unsere Fermentationstanks gepumpt und dort mit ausgesuchten Hefestämmen vermengt. Die Hefen fressen nun den Zucker in der Maische und scheiden dabei CO2 und Alkohol aus. Der Fermentationsprozess dauert ca. 5 Tage, danach ist aus dem süßen Getreidebrei ein saurer Getreidebrei mit ca. 9% Alkohol geworden. Wir nennen es liebevoll „Distillers Beer“. Dieses Distillers Beer wird nun destilliert.

Destillieren

Die Roggenmaische wird in unsere beiden kupfernen Hybrid-Brennblasen gepumpt und dort schonend destilliert. Die erste Destillation findet in einer Pot Still statt, der zweite Destillationsprozess in einem sogenannten Aromator über 5 kupfernen Glockenböden. Unser New Make - das Rohdestillat - weist nach der Destillation ca. 75% Vol. auf. Aus 1.000L Maische können wir ca. 9L New Make destillieren, nach zwei Brennvorgängen können wir so ein Whiskey-Fass mit 200L Füllmenge füllen. Wir arbeiten übrigens mit zwei selbst entwickelten „Mash Bills“ (Getreiderezepturen):

100% Roggenrohfrucht – „Bold & Spicy“: dieses Destillat besticht durch seine pfeffrige Fruchtigkeit und ergibt einen robusten und würzigen Whiskey.

100% Roggenmalz – „Sweet & Mellow“: dieses Destillat besticht durch seine malzige Süße und Schokoladennoten und ergibt einen weichen und süßlichen Whiskey.

Reifeprozess

Bis zu 60-80% der im Whiskey enthaltenen Aromen werden aus den Fässern gelöst, die dem Whiskey als temporärem Lagerraum dienen. Wir haben höchste Ansprüche an unser Fass-Management, denn das ist mindestens so elementar wie die Mash Bill unserer Whiskeys und die Hefen die wir benutzen.

Unsere Whiskys werden in unterschiedlichen Fässern für mindestens 3 Jahre ausgebaut und vor der Abfüllung miteinander vermählt um Komplexität, Charakter und den typischen STORK CLUB-Geschmack herauszubilden. Hierzu verwenden wir primär individuell für uns gebaute Fässer aus amerikanischer respektive aus deutscher Napoleon-Eiche. Die Fässer werden unterschiedlich hitzebehandelt („getoastet“) um ganz bestimmte Geschmackseigenschaften in den Whiskey zu transferieren. Aber auch „vorbelegte“ Fässer kommen zum Einsatz. Fässer also, die vormals z.B. Wein, Sherry oder andere Spirituosen beinhalteten.

ABFÜLLEN & ETIKETTIEREN

Nach der Reifung werden die Whiskey-Fässer entleert und miteinander in spezifischen Kompositionen vermählt. Nach einer Ruhezeit erfolgt die Filterung und Herabsetzung auf Trinkstärke mittels Zugabe von gefiltertem, neutralisiertem Wasser. Die Abfüllung und Etikettierung als letzter Schritt erfolgt - zum Großteil noch in Handarbeit - ebenfalls bei uns in der Destillerie.

Schließen (Esc)

Sichere dir 5% Rabatt auf deine nächste Bestellung!

Abonniere unseren Newsletter und erhalte Whiskey-Rezepte, Infos zu Neuerscheinungen, Rabattaktionen und vielem mehr rund um STORK CLUB Rye Whiskey.

Jetzt zum Newsletter anmelden und 5% Rabattcode sichern.

Altersüberprüfung

Bist du über 18 Jahre?

Suchen

Einkaufswagen

Ihr Einkaufswagen ist im Moment leer.
Einkauf beginnen
x